Can’t believe I’m eating Brussels spouts…

I remember as a kid my mom planting Brussels sprouts (or, as my husband is now telling me to call them, Belgium sprouts. And I want to just call them BS) in our home garden. 🙂 I don’t think I liked them, but it’s possible we never even cooked them. And I don’t think I’ve had them since, until this year when we got them in our CSA (Community Supported Agriculture. Basically a local farm) box and I really wanted to try and do something with them. Conveniently our CSA also referred us to this local blog posting about a recipe for Brussels sprouts. And it’s completely vegetarian (though, not vegan, as they claim, since it has honey in it. But you could easily swap out agave nectar for the honey to make it vegan). I love quinoa and was excited to have a recipe to use more of it, since it’s so easy to cook and is super healthy for you.

So, I tried the recipe. The first time I made it, I followed the roasting time and didn’t check it as it went. Bad mistake. I burned the heck out of the Brussels sprouts. So, the second time I turned down the oven to 375 (since we were baking winter squash at the same time) and actually only roasted them for a little over 30 minutes and they were perfect. And I had just enough white and red quinoa to make a mix of that. I thought it turned out great. And yes, I can’t believe I actually like Brussels sprouts (but still don’t like B.S.). 🙂

Belgium sprouts and quinoa. Yum!

3 thoughts on “Can’t believe I’m eating Brussels spouts…

  1. Here’s another way to try brussel sprouts, It’s from Mimi Kirk’s book ‘Live Raw’
    Very thinly slice a bunch of brussel sprouts, add some chopped scallions/spring onions, add some slivered almonds, add a little olive oil (maybe a tblsn) squeeze as much lemon as you’d like to taste into it, add salt & pepper. I have always loved brussel sprouts steamed or roasted and this was the 1st time I tried them as a salad & it was delish!

  2. Pingback: Kids in the Kitchen: Cooking with Toddlers | Denver Metro Moms Blog

Leave a Reply

