What in the world to do with all that kohlrabi?

My CSA starts giving me tons of kohlrabi about this time of year. I used to not have a clue what to do with it until they shared a recipe for kohlrabi hashbrowns that I tried once and now can never convince myself to make anything else with all the kohlrabi I get because the hashbrowns are so delicious!

First off, you may be wondering what the heck a kohlrabi is. 🙂 Let our friends at wikipedia tell you… And honestly, it does look like a little alien. Which makes me love it all the more! Add to that the fact that it has 1/3 the calories and carbs of potatoes and significantly more vitamin C, well, it might very well be the perfect veggie to make hashbrowns!

This recipe, shared by my CSA, but originally from Farmer John’s Cookbook, adds crushed red pepper flakes, which is what I think I like so much about it. So, without further ado…

Kohlrabi Hashbrowns:

3-4 kohlrabi bulbs(peeled)

2 eggs (lightly beaten)

1 small onion (chopped)

2 tbs dried bread crumbs

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (dried)

Freshly ground pepper (to taste)

2 tbs olive oil

2 tbs butter

Yogurt or sour cream (which, I have personally never used as I don’t feel the calories are needed since it’s so tasty on its own!)

Grate the kohlrabi (I use my food processor with the grater attachment to make this super duper quick. If I didn’t have it, I don’t know if I would have the patience to grate that much kohlrabi) and wrap it in a dish towel (at our house I use paper towels or cheese cloth since I have a furry dog, so our dish towels are never fully clean). Squeeze out excess moisture.

Combine eggs, onion, bread crumbs, salt, ginger, red pepper in a large mixing bowl. Add black pepper to taste. Stir until well blended. The recipe I got never said when to add the kohlrabi, so I add it here.

Heat the oil and butter in a large, heavy skillet. Add the kohlrabi and press down firmly with a sturdy spatula. Do not stir. Let the kohlrabi cook until brown, 5-7 minutes. Carefully flip the kohlrabi with the spatula, press down firmly with the spatula again, and brown for another 5-7 minutes. I will note that I have NEVER been successful at flipping the entire thing at once since it doesn’t really stick together like a pancake. So, I just flip sections at a time.

(If the kohlrabi is in a layer thicker than 1/4″, you may want to stir it up after the last 5-7 minutes to let the inner part cook and brown.) Serve with yogurt of sour cream.

Leave a Reply

