Homemade apple sauce

I am someone who almost always uses a recipe when I cook. I usually feel pretty free to modify as needed (or as I feel), but the great thing about homemade applesauce, is there are so few ingredients, it’s really very very easy! I also like the ability to add tasty spices.

This weekend I made a couple of different batches of applesauce. I used the same kind of apple in each batch (one with Jonagolds the other with Romes, I think. I’m not sure since I got them through my CSA), but you could mix and match your apples and it would turn out just fine. I also have this awesome attachment for my kitchenaid mixer that basically grinds the apples up after they are cooked and spits out the hard stuff (cores, any peel that is too hard, etc), but you don’t necessarily need this either. As long as you core your apples well beforehand, you don’t even have to peel them and you can just chop them up and then once cooked, smash them. I’m just lazy, so I like having kitchen appliances help aid me in that laziness. 🙂

So, here’s what I do:

I typically use about 8 apples, cored (use an apple corer, if you have one) and chopped roughly

Add these to a pot with about 1/4 cup sugar (more if you like it sweeter, non if you want unsweetened) and about 1/3 cup of water. I always start with less water since I figure I can always add more later
If you want spiced applesauce, you can add cinnamon sticks (I added two) or vanilla beans (cut open. Again, I added two). So I made one batch of vanilla bean (with the Jonagolds since they are more subtly flavored) and one batch of cinnamon (with the Romes since they are a stronger tasting apple)

Cook this all on about medium low heat, covered, for about 45 minutes or until the apples are soft.

After they are soft, either smash with a potato smasher or run through that fancy Kitchenaid attachment. And ta-da! You have homemade applesauce which is way way better than anything you can buy at the store. 🙂

Jonagolds (mid-coring)

Chopped Jonagolds with two chopped vanilla beans added to the pot (and the water and sugar) before cooking

Romes before chopping

Chopped Romes

The Jonagolds after cooking about 45 minutes (until smooshy). Make sure to remove the beans before smashing.

The Romes after cooking (with two cinnamon sticks). I removed those before smashing.

My awesome Kitchenaid attachment that makes the smashing go so easily and gives me a smooth consistency. You can make this recipe without it, however!

The final product! You can tell which one had the red apples vs. the gold ones. 🙂 Both are super tasty, though! I didn’t can these (since I knew we’d eat it up before we needed to), but this is an easy thing to water bath can as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

