Super simple green beans with lemon, garlic and parsley

The bean plants in our garden have been doing very well this year (this is seriously one of the easiest plants to grow). My two year old loves going out to pick the beans with me (which means I pick them, since the poor plant would be torn apart if he tried, hand the beans to him, and he puts them into a bowl). He loves pointing out all the beans I need to pick. In our case, we grew purple, yellow and green beans, which I think makes it even more fun for him.

Since we had a bunch of beans this week (though only enough for a half recipe of what is listed below), I wanted a quick and easy weeknight meal to make with them. I paired this recipe I found on epicurious with some extra firm tofu that I grilled on the stove (in a grill pan) with sweet chili sauce. Delicious! My husband especially liked that they were cooked in a pan with the garlic afterwards, which gave them a really nice taste with the garlic. I personally loved the lemon rind (which my son also got to help me grate)!

Green beans with garlic, lemon and parsley

  • 1 1/2 pounds green beans, trimmed
  • 2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel

Cook beans in large pot of boiling salted water until crisp-tender, about 4 minutes. Drain. Place beans in bowl of ice water to cool. Drain well.

Melt butter with oil in heavy large skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic; stir 30 seconds. Add beans; sauté until heated through, about 5 minutes. Stir in parsley and lemon peel. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to platter.

bean sorter

Notice that he sorted all the green beans on one side and purple and yellow on the other. Rather than a bean counter, I have a bean sorter!

green beans

One thought on “Super simple green beans with lemon, garlic and parsley

  1. Pingback: Kids in the Kitchen: Cooking with Toddlers | Denver Metro Moms Blog

Leave a Reply

